Print this page
Wednesday, 11 January 2012 23:31

Louisiana House Speaker Kleckley Makes Committee Assignments

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

louisianaHouse Speaker Chuck Kleckley today announced his leadership team and committee assignments for the 2012-2016 term. 

Earlier on Wednesday, Louisiana Senator President John Alario announced his committee assignments.

           In choosing chairmen and vice chairmen, Kleckley  said he, ". . .selected legislators with a knowledge and understanding of the individual committee's subject matter as well as leadership skills.   I was fortunate to have a wealth of talent to choose from for these positions."

          Kleckley also said one of his goals in making the leadership appointments was to ensure representation of all segments of the population and all areas of the state.  In obtaining this balance along geographic, political and racial lines, he said he has put together a team of, ". . . talented , dedicated, and visionary public servants who will work together to move our state forward for the benefit of all."

          Of the 32 chairmen and vice chairmen, there are 18 Republicans and 14  Democrats.   Geographically,  seven members of the leadership team hail from North Louisiana,  two from Central Louisiana,10 from the Greater New Orleans area,  four from the Acadiana region,  three from Baton Rouge, and  six from the Northshore/Florida parishes area of the state.

          A list of leadership appointments follows.  A complete list of committee assignments is available on the House Web site at


Watch Bayoubuzz's movie of recent inaugural ball and the inauguration

PLEASE NOTE:  A runoff election for the Congressional District 3 elected seat on the Appropriations Committee is being conducted between state Reps. Simone Champagne and Dee Richard.   Ballots for this election have been mailed and are due no later than 5:00 p.m., Thursday, January 19, 2012. 

House Chairmen & Vice Chairmen 

Appropriations                                                                                                         Agriculture

Jim Fannin, C                                                                                                              Andy Anders, C

Cameron Henry, VC                                                                                                   Bob Hensgens, VC


Ways and Means                                                                                                       Judiciary

Joel Robideaux, C                                                                                                        Jeff Arnold, C

Patrick Williams, VC                                                                                                   Franklin Foil, VC


Civil Law                                                                                                                     Labor

Neil Abramson, C                                                                                                        Herbert Dixon, C

Alan Seabaugh, V C                                                                                                     Chris Broadwater, VC


Commerce                                                                                                                  Municipal, Parochial & Cultural Affairs

Erich Ponti, C                                                                                                              Girod Jackson, C

Kirk Talbot, VC                                                                                                            Robert Billiot, VC


Transportation                                                                                                          Retirement

Karen St. Germain, C                                                                                                  Kevin Pearson, C

Austin Badon, VC                                                                                                        Nick Lorusso, VC


Criminal Justice                                                                                                          Natural Resources

Joe Lopinto, C                                                                                                              Gordon Dove, C

Helena Moreno, VC                                                                                                     Jim Morris, VC


Education                                                                                                                   Insurance

Steve Carter, C                                                                                                            Greg Cromer, C

Patrick Jefferson, VC                                                                                                   Harold Ritchie, VC


Health and Welfare                                                                                                   House & Governmental Affairs

Scott Simon                                                                                                                 Tim Burns, C

Frank Hoffmann                                                                                                          Michael Danahay, VC

Watch Bayoubuzz's movie of recent inaugural ball and the inauguration


Bayoubuzz Staff

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.