Thursday, 27 February 2014 16:32

RNC Announces Cities Bidding for 2016 Convention, 3 Ohio sites picked

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Reince Priebus 5Today, the Republican National Committee announced the names of the cities bidding for the 2016 National Convention in 2016. The eight cities are Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus, Denver, Dallas, Kansas City, Las Vegas, and Phoenix.

 Reince Priebus, chairman of the Republican National Committee, tweeted the following:

Reince Priebus ‏@Reince  1h
“Congratulations to Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus, Denver, Dallas, Kansas City, Las Vegas & Phoenix for moving on to the next phase.”

All of these cities are located in Mid-America and the Sunbelt and none on either coasts. Several of these cities - Las Vegas, Denver, Cincinnati, Columbus, and Cleveland - are located in states that were swing states in the 2012 Presidential election. Ohio, home to three of the cities, has been known as a swing state since the 1980s.

Numbers from the 2012 Presidential Election

Nevada (Las Vegas): 6 electoral votes. 52.3% Obama; 45.7% Romney.
Colorado (Denver): 9 electoral votes. 51.2% Obama; 46.5% Romney.
Ohio (Cincinnati, Columbus, and Cleveland): 18 electoral votes. 50.1% Obama; 48.2% Romney.
Missouri (Kansas City): 10 electoral votes. 44.3% Obama; 53.9% Romney.
Arizona (Phoenix): 11 electoral votes. 44.1% Obama; 54.2% Romney.
Texas (Dallas): 38 electoral votes. 41.4% Obama; 57.2% Romney.

Bayoubuzz Staff

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Dead Pelican

Optimized-DeadPelican2 1 1