Monday, 09 February 2015 19:03

Louisiana biz: Sasol contracts, Orpheous picks, IndyCar revs

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

nola-sportsLouisiana business shorts for today:

Sasol announces contractors, Krewe of Orpheous picks actress and Indycar revs up


Sasol has selected five Louisiana-based contractors to support construction of its ethane cracker and derivatives project, reflecting a commitment of more than $1 billion in contracts.

Cajun Constructors, Inc. and James Industrial Constructors will perform site civil works. This work includes some of the first activity at the site and consists of site preparation, piling and foundation work. ISC Constructors, LLC and MMR Constructors, Inc. will perform electrical and instrumentation work. Turner Industries will conduct mechanical, structural steel and piping work.

“With the announcement of our final investment decision, Sasol is excited to advance construction at our ethane cracker and derivatives project site,” said Mike Thomas, senior vice president of U.S. Operations for Sasol. “These contractors bring extensive Louisiana and petrochemical construction experience and these appointments reflect our commitment to using Louisiana businesses on the project.”

Numerous hiring, subcontract and procurement opportunities will be available directly with these local Louisiana construction contractors. Sasol will host a business opportunity forum on Thursday, Feb. 19 from 4-7p.m. at the Lake Charles Civic Center for the company’s appointed Louisiana-based construction contractors to meet with the Southwest Louisiana business community and share information about available opportunities.

“We encourage local businesses interested in working on the projects to attend this forum and learn about anticipated timelines, application processes and business needs,” Thomas said.

Selection of these local Louisiana construction contractors follows the appointment of Fluor Technip Integrated (FTI), a joint venture of two firms, as the primary engineering, procurement and construction management contractor. These local Louisiana construction contractors will be managed by FTI on Sasol’s behalf.

Additional construction contractors will be announced as the project progresses. Contact information for each of the contractors will also be provided on Sasol’s website at as it becomes available.


The Krewe of Orpheus announced today that Lisa Vanderpump will be joining its 2015 parade. Star of BravoTV’s Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and Executive Producer & Star of Vanderpump Rules; she is also a Restauranteur and Philanthropist.

Vanderpump will be honored as a Monarch in the Lundi Gras parade

“Life is punctuated by incredible moments and this is a once in a lifetime opportunity.” Vanderpump said, “Mardi Gras has always been on my bucket list, so I’m incredibly excited and thrilled to have the honor of being named a Monarch of Orpheus; it takes on even more significance since Orpheus has always stood for diversity and inclusion; as have I.”

The glamorous Monarch is also bringing a little lagniappe to the Krewe festivities and will be sharing her signature brand LVP Sangria with all of the guests on the VIP Captain’s Platform at the Orpheuscapade.

The Orpheus parade rolls on Mardi Gras, Monday, February 16, 2015 and is followed by the Orpheuscapade headlined this year by Dierks Bentley and held at the Morial Convention Center. For information or tickets: 504-822-7211 or


 Six Verizon IndyCar Series teams, featuring some of the most famous names in racing, will test the track at NOLA Motorsports Park on Tuesday, Feb. 10. Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power, 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, former series champion Juan Pablo Montoya, three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves, and more are expected at the test in preparation for the inaugural Indy Grand Prix of Louisiana weekend April 10-12.


GUESTS:               Teams expected to test include:

-         Team Penske

•        Will Power, 2014 Verizon IndyCar champion

•        Juan Pablo Montoya, 2000 Indianapolis 500 champion

•        Helio Castroneves, Three-time Indianpolis 500 champion

•        Simon Pagenaud

-         Andretti Autosport

•        Ryan Hunter-Reay, 2014 Indianapolis 500 champion

•        Marco Andretti

•        Carlos Munoz

-         Rahal Letterman Lanigan Raching

•        Graham Rahal

-         CFH Racing

•        Josef Newgarden

•        Luca Fililppi

-         Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

•        James Hinchcliffe

-         KV Racing Technology

•        Sebastien Bourdais

Bayoubuzz Staff

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Dead Pelican

Optimized-DeadPelican2 1 1